Events

Upcoming events

    • Friday, September 22, 2017
    • 12:00 PM - 1:00 PM
    • Children's Courthouse, 155 NW 3rd Street, Miami, Florida 33128

    Due to ongoing post-Hurricane Irma recovery efforts, our September 22nd General Membership Meeting is postponed. We will reschedule the meeting as soon as possible.

    • Tuesday, September 26, 2017


    • Thursday, October 19, 2017
    • 10:30 AM - 5:30 PM
    • Nova Southeastern University Shepard College of Law 3305 College Avenue, Davie FL 33314

    Please register here

    • Friday, October 20, 2017
    • Sunday, October 22, 2017
    • Westin Fort Lauderdale Beach Resort, 321 N. Fort Lauderdale Beach Blvd. Fort Lauderdale, FL

    Click here to register for the 2017 Women of Color Empowerment Conference.

    Due to Hurricane Irma the Conference has been rescheduled to

    October 20-22, 2017

    IF YOU CURRENTLY HOLD A TICKET, TABLE OR SPONSORSHIP, THERE IS NOTHING THAT YOU NEED TO DO. Tickets, tables, & sponsors will be automatically moved to October 20th – 22nd. New purchases will be applied to those dates. Those on the waiting list for the Saturday programming day will retain their original priority based on the day and time when they were added.

    As you prepare your homes and families for the anticipated weather, please take a moment to cancel any hotel reservations by contacting the Westin Hotel’s Central Reservations at 1-888-627-7108.

    For paid members of GSCBWLA, the WOCEI is offering a $20.00 discount on the Friday, September 8th Comedy Show tickets. Rather than paying $75.00 like everyone else, our members will pay only $55.00 to see some of the funniest comedians on the comedy circuit today. People interested can call 954-900-3494 to reserve seats. This event is hosted by the hilarious Jonathan Slocumb. 

    • Thursday, November 02, 2017
    • 6:00 PM - 8:00 PM
    • University of Miami School of Law, 1311 Miller Rd, Coral Gables, FL 33146

    Please click here to register.

Past events

Wednesday, September 20, 2017 Florida Women Lawyers of Color Summit Statewide Post-Summit Strategic Planning Conference Call
Thursday, September 14, 2017 Law Student Mentoring Reception
Saturday, September 09, 2017 Virgil Hawkins Florida Chapter National Bar Association's First Quarterly Meeting & Bootcamp
Friday, September 08, 2017 Women of Color Empowerment Conference
Thursday, August 31, 2017 Women's Equality Day with the Miami Beach Chamber of Commerce Women's Business Roundtable & CMB Commission For Women
Wednesday, August 16, 2017 Joint Voluntary Bar Association Summer Social
Saturday, July 29, 2017 NBA Convention 2017 - Justice Quince Honored as a Fred David Gray Hall of Fame Inductee
Friday, July 14, 2017 Florida Women Lawyers of Color Summit and Annual Leadership Retreat
Thursday, June 29, 2017 Annual Installation & Awards Ceremony
Sunday, May 21, 2017 Spring Hi-Tea Social
Thursday, April 27, 2017 JDI Judicial Reception
Wednesday, April 19, 2017 General Membership Meeting
Friday, March 24, 2017 Family Law 101 Seminar
Saturday, February 25, 2017 4th Annual Bowl-A-Thon
Thursday, January 19, 2017 General Membership Meeting presenting Beyond the Robe: Other Elected Opportunities for Lawyers
Thursday, January 05, 2017 Family Law 101 Seminar
Thursday, December 08, 2016 Annual Joint Minority Voluntary Bar Association Holiday Party
Tuesday, November 15, 2016 Dine & Dish Brown Bag Edition
Friday, November 04, 2016 Reception Honoring Judge Melvia Green
Wednesday, November 02, 2016 1st Wednesdays HBCU/Black Alumni Social
Tuesday, October 25, 2016 Happy Hour for the Balance of Power
Wednesday, October 19, 2016 General Membership Meeting & Social Affair
Wednesday, October 05, 2016 1st Wednesdays
Friday, August 26, 2016 Macy's Shop For a Cause
Friday, August 12, 2016 GSCBWLA Leadership & Membership Retreat
Thursday, July 28, 2016 Joint Voluntary Bar Association Summer Social
Thursday, June 30, 2016 Annual Installation and Awards Ceremony
Wednesday, May 18, 2016 Diversity Summit
Friday, May 13, 2016 Law Day
Tuesday, May 10, 2016 Reception in honor of Judge Gil Freedman
Wednesday, May 04, 2016 Bench & Bar Diversity Luncheon
Friday, April 29, 2016 GSCBWLA Dine & Dish
Friday, April 29, 2016 Joint Happy Hour with GSCBWLA & F. Malcolm Cunningham Bar Association
Wednesday, April 27, 2016 Dinner with Governor Rick Scott: Judicial Appointments & the JNC
Friday, April 15, 2016 General Membership Meeting & CLE on Public Speaking
Thursday, April 14, 2016 Judicial Reception with PNC Bank
Wednesday, April 06, 2016 Lunch with the Florida Bar President Ramón A. Abadin
Sunday, March 13, 2016 2nd Annual Fancy Hat Day at the Races
Monday, February 29, 2016 Dine & Dish
Saturday, January 30, 2016 Soul Food Cook Off
Friday, January 22, 2016 General Membership Meeting & "New Year a New Financial Perspective"
Tuesday, December 15, 2015 Dine & Dish
Friday, November 06, 2015 GSCBWLA 30th Anniversary Celebration
Friday, October 30, 2015 Investiture: Judge Jason E. Bloch
Thursday, October 29, 2015 Strength in Diversity: Faces of Justice in Florida’s Courts
Thursday, October 01, 2015 Domestic Violence Panel
Wednesday, September 30, 2015 GSCBWLA General Membership Meeting featuring the Judicial Diversity Initiative
Tuesday, September 29, 2015 WCC & University of Miami School of Business Administration Present THE GENDER PAY GAP & EQUAL RIGHTS AMENDMENT: Its Past, Present & Future in Florida
Saturday, September 26, 2015 The Real Deal: The Ropes to Skip & The Ropes to Know for a Successful Law School and Career Experience
Saturday, September 19, 2015 Women of Color Empowerment Conference
Friday, September 18, 2015 Symposium: Shutting Down the School to Prison Pipeline
Friday, August 14, 2015 GSCBWLA Leadership & Membership Retreat
Thursday, July 09, 2015 Third Annual Voluntary Bar Association Summer Social
Tuesday, June 30, 2015 GSCBWLA Installation
Thursday, June 25, 2015 Creating Your Blueprint for Leadership
Friday, May 29, 2015 GSCBWLA Annual Meeting
Wednesday, May 20, 2015 Mock Trial: Lillie C. Evans Elementary School
Saturday, May 09, 2015 CLE Panel Discussion
Wednesday, May 06, 2015 Young Lawyers Wine & Cheese Networking Reception
Wednesday, April 29, 2015 By-laws Committee Meeting
Thursday, April 23, 2015 Complaint Intake and Processing presented by the NAACP
Saturday, April 11, 2015 The Real Deal: Real World Insights from the Bench & Bar
Thursday, April 09, 2015 Judicial Reception
Thursday, April 09, 2015 BWLA 2015 National Summit of Black Women Lawyers – Answering the Call (Part II): Owning Our Destiny
Sunday, March 29, 2015 Fancy Hat Day at the Races
Thursday, March 19, 2015 Fancy Hat Shopping & Happy Hour

Copyright © 2017 Gwen S. Cherry Black Women Lawyers Association